SMP Craft
4 Oct

Shower Curtain Blues: A Crafty DIY Solution

aviary-image-1443993935420

Listen to Blue Skies – Willie Nelson

The mind never ceases to amaze. While staring up at the clear blue sky littered with white cotton ball cumulus clouds, I found the solution to my bathroom annoyance. 

20150619_065744

Cotton Clothesline Rope

In my fantasy world, my bathroom would be a walk-in bath house with no curtains or doors. But in my reality, a rented NYC apartment with a small simple bathroom that houses a shower-tub combination, I (and I’m certainly not alone) do what I can with the space that I do have.

For some time, mimicking the open space of a bath house, I left the tub open and without a shower curtain. But even with a handheld shower head, water splattered everywhere. And so I bought a shower curtain and over time several others in different shades and patterns. But while I didn’t lose sleep over this, there was simply something about those shower curtains that I didn’t like. Maybe because they tended to block the light? Who knows.

What I do know is that when the solution came to me recently–a clear shower liner hung with clothesline rope as the ties!!!–I needed to execute it immediately.

20150619_065442

Clothesline Rope Knots

I think it turned out pretty darn cool. It feels right–probably because it’s the closest thing to nothing I could come to.

20151004_182420

Clear Bathroom Shower Curtain Liner Hung with Cotton Clothesline Rope Ties

Moreover, now my bathroom looks and feels more spacious!

“Blue skies smiling at me, nothing but blue skies, do I see…”

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
12 Jun

Adult Coloring Books

Today at SMPCraft headquarters, we’re having a wonderful time going through the adult coloring books we’ve got, seen, heard about, and desperately want. Not the raunchy and racy kind, but the intricately designed ones that are smart, relieve stress, spark creativity, and often make us laugh. These kinds tend to fall under two types–some are beautiful and meditative while others, witty, cool, satirical, and funny. It’s Friday and you’re probably ready to unwind and start your weekend, so we’ll be quick. Here are just a few examples to get you started.

FOUR SEASONS: A COLORING BOOK by Aiko Fukawa includes beautifully detailed black-and-white illustrations, perfect for fans of Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest.

FourSeasons

SECRET GARDEN: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Colouring Book by Johanna Basford

SecretGarden

ZENDOODLE COLORING: ENCHANTING GARDENS Illustrated by Nikolett Corley

EnchantingGardens

 ART NOUVEAU ANIMAL DESIGNS Dover Creative Haven Art by Marty Noble

Art Nouveau Animal Designs

THRILL MURRAY a Bill Murray-inspired coloring book from Belly Kids

TM-front-cover

SNAKE EYES: A NICOLAS CAGE ACTIVITY BOOKHaunt Me Studios

SnakeEyes

THE HIPSTER COLORING BOOK FOR ADULTS  also comes with a *BONUS* printable pdf version!

Q: Why did the hipster burn his tongue?
A: Because he ate his food before it was cool.

HipsterColoringBookforAdults

 BUN B’S RAP COLORING AND ACTIVITY BOOK: 48 pages of hip hop coloring including Tupac, Queen Latifah, Childish Gambino, Jay Z, Kanye West and many more!

RapColoringActivityBook

THE INDIE ROCK COLORING BOOK The Yellow Bird Project

Wiggle yourself through the intricate Broken Social Scene maze, marvel in the colourful carnival of Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, color Bon Iver’s enchanted water supply, or slide down the psychedelic playground of MGMT. – See more at: http://www.yellowbirdproject.com/products/indie-rock-coloring-book#sthash.nW3ComqR.dpuf
Wiggle yourself through the intricate Broken Social Scene maze, marvel in the colourful carnival of Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, color Bon Iver’s enchanted water supply, or slide down the psychedelic playground of MGMT. – See more at: http://www.yellowbirdproject.com/products/indie-rock-coloring-book#sthash.nW3ComqR.dpuf
Wiggle yourself through the intricate Broken Social Scene maze, marvel in the colourful carnival of Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, color Bon Iver’s enchanted water supply, or slide down the psychedelic playground of MGMT. – See more at: http://www.yellowbirdproject.com/products/indie-rock-coloring-book#sthash.nW3ComqR.dpufProject
Wiggle yourself through the intricate Broken Social Scene maze, marvel in the colourful carnival of Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, color Bon Iver’s enchanted water supply, or slide down the psychedelic playground of MGMT. – See more at: http://www.yellowbirdproject.com/products/indie-rock-coloring-book#sthash.nW3ComqR.dpuf
Wiggle yourself through the intricate Broken Social Scene maze, marvel in the colourful carnival of Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, color Bon Iver’s enchanted water supply, or slide down the psychedelic playground of MGMT. – See more at: http://www.yellowbirdproject.com/products/indie-rock-coloring-book#sthash.nW3ComqR.dpuf

IndieRockColoringBook

COLOR ME SWOON: The Beefcake Activity Book for Good Color-Inners as well as Beginners An adult CELEBRITY coloring book.

ColorMeSwoon

OUTSIDE THE LINES: An Artists’ Coloring Book for Giant Imaginations Curated by Souris Hong-Porretta

OutsidetheLines

COLOR ME DRUNK: A Drinking and Drawing Activity Book

Color Me Drunk

COLOR ME CRAZY by Illustator Peter Deligdisch features 44 hand-drawn creations and notes: This isn’t about perfectionism; with pages this detailed, wherever you color is between the lines.

colormecrazy

THE SNEAKER COLORING BOOK by Daniel Jarosch and Henrik Klingel

The Sneaker Coloring Book

And last, calling all Game of Thrones fans: Bantam announced that it will publish likely this coming fall a George R. R. Martin GAME OF THRONES adultaimed coloring book that “will feature 45 original black and white illustrations, inspired by characters, scenes, locations and other iconic images from Martin’s wildly successful ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ series’.” And in an email to Time, Bantam “said it will feature ‘art by world renowned fantasy illustrators Yvonne Gilbert, John Howe, Tomislav Tomic, Adam Stower and Levi Pinfold.'”

gameofthrones15_186

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
19 Nov

How-To Tuesday: Make a Wreath Out of Recycled Book Pages

Once upon a time, Courtney and Mitali decided they wanted to decorate the office for the upcoming holidays. A festive wreath seemed like just the thing!

But how to make one? They wondered.11.19Thinking

“We work at a publishing house,” said Courtney. “So we should make it out of book pages!”

Mitali was skeptical. “But we love books. Why would we want to destroy them?”

“Not destroy,” Courtney assured. “Recycle!”

The two were in luck: dozens of old galleys were lying around the office. Now that finished books had been published, they were completely useless.

Or were they?

11.19Tearing

 

“This is distressing,” said Mitali.

“Just think of it as the book’s afterlife!” Courtney chirped.

11.19Dipping

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“No, not to me,” Mitali said. “I mean, this is distressing—the book pages!”

 

“Now we just roll them into cylinders and staple them to a piece of cardboard.”

 And an hour later . . .

11.19Finished

Voila!

 

Tagged with: , , , , ,

CAUGHT CRAFTING: SMPCraft’s Spotlight on NYC Crafting

SMPCRAFT #CAUGHTCRAFTING Thursday morning, Astoria, Queens. Accessorizing with a lovely temporary floral tattoo she learned to make from DIY Temporary Tattoos: Draw It, Print It, Ink It by Pepper Baldwin!

PROJECT OF THE MONTH: JUNE DIY Father’s Day Gifts to MAKE NOW

PROJECT OF THE MONTH: JUNE DIY Father’s Day Gifts to MAKE NOW

Father's Day is less than three weeks away -- Sunday, June 19th in the U.S. -- just enough time to start prepping for what would make dear old pops feel loved....What dad, what MAN, wouldn't want to get a bright red tool box full of homemade BBQ, bacon, and chili flavored chocolate? Or a handmade Paracord hammock? Does he play golf?--hand dipped tees? Does he like to hike? Enjoy nature and the great outdoors? How about homemade beef jerky? Or does he enjoy watching sports--Remote Control Cookie? What about beer? One of the coolest new items coming out of Japan is a Frozen Beer Slushy Maker by Kirin Ichiban that perfectly pairs with the DIY black and tan soap! Scroll and click for more homemade DIY Father's Day gift ideas sure to make pappy happy! Hashtag #SMPCRAFT #DIYFATHERSDAY!

My Recent Pins

Follow Me on Pinterest 
My Pinterest Badge by: Jafaloo. For Support visit: My Pinterest Badge